Crocheting

My Grandmom taught me to crochet a basic chain when I was about 8.  She did not give me a hook to use or teach me anything more than that one technique, most probably due to my short attention span!  Over the years I have tried my hand at crochet several times, always setting my sights on making an afghan.  At the completion of each afghan I had a lovely scarf to wear; Life and young children to chase had not improved my attention span for crochet projects in 20 years!!

Fast forward many years, my nest is now emptying and I have much more time available for me so I turned to crochet once again.  I figured I better start small this go around and in no time at all dishcloths and coasters were flying off my hook!  From October to December I created small masterpieces (in my own mind) to give as handmade gifts to friends and relatives, I felt very accomplished.  One day my niece and nephews were visiting, the twins requested that I make a Kirby for their older brother.  I thought it was sweet that they didn’t ask for themselves, so I set out to find a way to make one on the Internet.  Now the world of Amigurumi is exposed to me; an enormous variety of small, crocheted dolls!  It seems the possibilities are endless, there are animals, robots, cartoon characters, etc, etc, etc. and everything is crocheted and a small job, well some are bigger, but most are mini, definitely smaller than an afghan!

These small dolls are so adorable, I just can’t stop!  I THINK I AM HOOKED!!!

Here is the Kirby I made following the pattern found at Nerdigurumi’s site http://nerdigurumi.com/tag/kirby

Kirby

Kirby

Leave a Reply

