Nieces and Nephews equals more projects!

My niece and nephew (twins) had asked me to make their big brother the Kirby, which is what got me learning about amigurumi. Once they saw the Kirby they wanted something for themselves as well. My nephew wanted a Prince Fluff, part of the Kirby Yarn World game characters. One I looked up his image I found he was exactly a blue Kirby with a crown and different facial features, no problem! I decided to try a smaller hook just to see what different hooks did to the overall size of the finished product using the same weight yarn.

20140124-150933.jpg

Here is the finished Prince Fluff using the same pattern I used for Kirby, just adding the crown.

20140124-151138.jpg

Here you can see a big size difference. Kirby was made with my then only crochet hook the H/8-5mm. I now have a variety of hooks and chose the F/5-3.75mm for Prince Fluff. My brother-in-law sent me the photo with the two together and it definitely looks like Kirby gets lots of hugs!

My niece wanted a Princess Peach or a bat in pink or black. Looking up patterns for the princess, I was convinced I’d have to have more experience and possibly come up with my own pattern. So I went with a very basic ball-bat. I had already had a pink ball that I made and it had brown eyes…why did I have this already, you may ask? I told you I was addicted, I just keep making balls! And some balls get faces. 😃. Well I didn’t have any more matching pink so I went with charcoal for the bat’s ears and wings.

20140124-152920.jpg

This is a wee little bat! But I find it very adorable right down to the button nose! I made the wings sans pattern..you could say, I just winged it!. I opted to sew the wings around a pipe cleaner fed through the bat head so it’s wings can be posed.

20140124-153353.jpg

Another niece and nephew’s birthdays came around and I thought I could whip up a little something they’d like. My nice is a Hello Kitty fan and I opted to try my hand at one of those. There are tons of patterns and options for this famous kitten but I figured I’d refer to some but try it mostly on my own. This is what I ended up with:

20140124-154309.jpg

20140124-154325.jpg

20140124-154343.jpg

Hello Kitty was given to my niece who will cherish her “to go” sized friend!

My nephew loves super heroes and although he loves Captain America best, the Hulk is right up there and I didn’t think I was quiet ready for all the color changes involved in making the good captain. I found a pattern for the hulk that look acceptable to me and I made only minor alterations in following it. Here is the pattern I used: The Hook Monster

20140124-155501.jpg

This is my Hulk prior to getting a mouth and a haircut! I was tempted to leave him a long haired “Hulk Jr”!

20140124-155703.jpg

The mouth was difficult as I tried many colors and shapes but finally settled on this flatline mouth, boring but acceptable to me. His haircut really shows off his angry eyes! I am satisfied with him now and will be wrapping him up to present to my nephew this weekend!

2 responses to “Nieces and Nephews equals more projects!

Leave a Reply

