Letting Go

I loved you as soon as I saw you, helpless and screaming your tiny head off.  You were my second child and another girl, just exactly what I wanted, a perfect little angel.  You watched the room with an awareness and scrutiny I never heard of in an newborn infant.  Something that would stay with you even to this day, we just called it “attitude”.  You have grown into a beautiful, young lady and are about to embark on your adventure far from home.  Oh how I will miss you!

ImageIt hurts so much to let go.  It’s not as though we will never speak to or see each other again, it’s the distance that’s the hardest pill to swallow.  I need to feel I can be there for you and help you whenever you need or want anything, but how can I do that when you’ll be so far away? That’s what I have problems with, letting go of my ability to help you instantly.  I will feel very powerless, but I’m sure I will figure that out.  This, I’m sure, is an age old pain for parents and just means I, too, am reaching a new stage in life.

The funny thing is I don’t want to keep you for myself, I want to share you with the world and show everyone what a beautiful, intelligent woman you have become. Of course, I was quite content just showing the locals, but hey, you have to take it farther, I can understand that!  I want you to spread your wings and fly; reach inside and find that adventurous spirit, hang on and soar!!  See the world and everything in it!  Go and do, because NOW is your time to shine!

Don’t let any little falters fail you, we all stumble and fall…brush it off!  Look back ONLY to learn where to better plant your feet!  I hope you know how very, very proud I am of you, Amie.  I hope when you fly away from me tomorrow that you will always feel my arms around you, holding you up and letting you shine!  I loved you instantly and unconditionally from that first moment and it has grown exponentially every day since.  Remember, even if we aren’t together, we are always connected and I will always be there for you forever!

I love you!

Mom

XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

