Crocheting while I impatiently wait for Spring

While it’s nice to see photos of Springtime sunshine and flowers, I am getting rather impatient for it to hit here!  If things don’t turn soon I may be forced to relocate to a warmer climate just to spare my sanity, it has been an extremely long and cold winter.  At least today I was warmed up with a corned beef and cabbage lunch in honor of St. Patrick’s Day, Mmmm what a warming comfort food!

Image

No more snow please!

The above photo was taken just a couple nights ago when I was so discouraged to see it snowing yet again! I snapped this shot when my little dog, Loki, was dashing for the door.  We had a nice warm up for two days and then right back to freezing!  It seems relentless this year.  So with being bundled up inside, I was able to get a couple little things crocheted.

I tried my hand at crocheting a Minecraft Creeper key chain for my nephew.  I have never tried a square before, so I looked to the Internet for inspiration and found a few sites to get tips, this is the end result, which could have been a whole lot better had I used something to reinforce the walls.  My son tells me that Creepers are pillars and I’ve managed to do just a head, but an entire body would be entirely too big for a key chain!  This site has a full pattern to follow if you are interested in making a Minecraft Creeper.  Mine did not turn out quite as nice but here it is all the same:

Image

Minecraft Creeper

I was unsure what to make my niece and my daughter suggested “any cute animal” as girls love cute things!  So I thought what’s cuter than pandas or baby seals?  Not much I tell you!  So I tried both.

Image

Panda Front

Image

Panda back

This Panda is based on this pattern but mine came out differently due to the thicker yarn weight.  Still cute though.

Image

Baby Seal’s face

Image

Side view

The seal I just whipped up from looking at photos, however in retrospect I would have chosen to do it all in single crochet instead of double.  I just wanted to try something done with double crochet but I did not like decreasing in DC as it left such a gap.  Turns out I should have looked up decreasing in double crochet instead of assuming it was done the same as single crochet!  Oh well crocheting is a learning experience, right?!  So this baby seal will be a keeper added to my growing basket of misfit toys! I guess my niece will be getting a panda!

Right now I’m working on some dish cloths as a friend asked for a new one, she loves the one I gave her for Christmas and uses it all the time.  It’s so nice to know you can make a gift for someone that is useful and appreciated! 🙂

Enjoy your sunshine (if you are getting it) and hopefully some is heading my way!

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!  Until next time, Happy Hooking and Have a Great Day!

Leave a Reply

